Is there a specific reason you have to choose between those tow guns? as in; they are offered to me for free or that's all you have etc?

You are asking a question akin to asking whats better a shovel or a broom. makes no sense since neither is similar. both do clean things up but are different tools.

to me, training is much more important than which pistol you end up with.
Formal training obtained through a recognized professional firearms instructor or school. not Billy Bob the "tactical guru" at the local gunshop who was deployed to Iraq as a truck driver or was involved in "black ops".

having spent the past almost 30 years as a student of the gun as a defensive and offensive tool and as a formally trained instructor, I have my own beliefs and opinions. and they are worth nothing. But I look at a few things when making a recommendation.
1. are you prepared to use deadly force?
2. are you willing to get professional training to effectively use a firearm for personal defense and understand the legal issues when carrying and using a firearm?

3. what is the environment in which you will most likely be carrying the firearm? on you , in a vehicle, in a home, in a business, or a combination.
4. will you be the only person using it?
5. will you train at least monthly (meaning will you shoot 100-200 rds a month to maintain proficiency?

once these questions are answered, I can start to make some recommendatioins.

on the surface, when asked the generic question of what is a good gun for self defense in the home? I ask what the person experience is.
I tell them that it isn't som much the firearm but the training and willingness to use it.
but , that being said,
for the average person who doesn't shoot much, has minimal training, in a revolver I recommend a Smith & Wesson Model 10 M&P 38 Special revolver or its stainless equivalent. with 158 gr semi wadcutter hollow points.