doublegunshop.com - home
Posted By: kemaltunali New stock - 05/18/14 04:16 PM
Hello mates, this is my new stock on my Army&Navy shotgun, i have been keeping this wood for 15 years at my storage until i fell in love with this shotgun and decided i should put it on her. What do u think of the wood and the stockmakers work? Will soon post the pictures of the gun when the work is completed. Still waiting for the bone buttplate i ordered for the rear of the stock.

Regards

Posted By: Franc Otte Re: New stock - 05/18/14 04:57 PM
Kem, I think wood is super nice.Though the grain doesn't look that straight through the wrist & head, as some say is important for strength.
Is the gold tear drop raised or flat?..looks flat.I'm not sure I like that instead of the trad' wood TDrop.
But of course you do, so you should be well pleased indeed with such a nicely stocked, & pretty Gun
shoot her in good health
cheers
rog
Posted By: kemaltunali Re: New stock - 05/18/14 05:12 PM
The tear drop is flat mate thanks for your kind words and the comment!

All the best,

Kem
Posted By: Buzz Re: New stock - 05/18/14 05:32 PM
I've had several stocks made and from what I know, that wood should be fine for your gun. It's likely not straight enough in the grip for a sidelock, but you used it on a boxlock. It is very pretty IMO.
Posted By: Franc Otte Re: New stock - 05/18/14 06:51 PM
I just thought the wrist on through the head should , to be "Perfect" grain wise , be kinda straight, like in line with the bbls
On this one , the grain at from the grip to the head seems more like 45*, I'd heard that that could cause cracking under recoil, regardless of if its a BL or SL, obviously more so with the thin upper n lower horns on a SL.But the Butt sure is pretty.
It looks super nice, but he did ask for thoughts, smile
But I'm not a stock maker either
Nice looking Gun mate
Franc
Posted By: Buzz Re: New stock - 05/18/14 07:13 PM