April
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30
Who's Online Now
9 members (David Williamson, dblgnfix, Jerry G, battle, J.B.Patton, 2 invisible), 1,051 guests, and 5 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums10
Topics38,434
Posts544,720
Members14,402
Most Online1,258
Mar 29th, 2024
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 4 of 5 1 2 3 4 5
Sidelock
OP Offline
Sidelock

Originally Posted By: Recoil Rob
I have no experience with spreaders, are they designed to open up a pattern more than a gun with no choke at all?

I.e. will a Cyl. choked gun shoot a more open pattern with spreaders than with a standard load?

Yes, Rob. A spreader will enlarge the pattern more, even when shot out of a cylinder barrel. Some believe that the tighter the choke, the more a spreader opens. I.e., whereas a IC choked barrel may shoot a SK pattern with a spreader, a XF choked barrel may open up to a M. I've never seen proof, nor disproof, of that contention. So, I accept it as a possibility until I am shown one way or the other.

SRH

May God bless America and those who defend her.
Sidelock
Sidelock

I haven't seen flyers with handloaded bismuth. My Alabama friends who come up for woodcock and grouse said they wouldn't use spreaders for fear of hitting their dogs. My guess is they may have been referring to softer shot of years ago---and were keeping a factoid alive.

GLS Offline
Sidelock
Sidelock

Even if one shot a large surface and if the first shot didn't show flyers, how many more shots would it take to satisfy the issue?

Sidelock
Sidelock