doublegunshop.com - home
Posted By: Bob Cash Price Check Isle 21 ( No Politics Here!) - 08/04/16 04:58 PM
I need a Double Trigger Model 21 in 16 gauge to fill a slot in my modest cabinet.
It'll fit right between 12 and 20 gauge Double trigger guns already in my possession.
26" Full/Mod, PG, SFE, Single Bead, Good dimensions to Makers butt plate.
Condition is used not abused with lever right of center.
Availability seems to be a little on the thin side.
Any thoughts on value? Thanks

Looks like an earlier M21- as from the pg shape and checkering pattern. Extractors or ejectors? Like the Fox guns, the m21 in 16 and 20 gauge had the same size frame- nice lines- $4K range, depending on ejectors or extractors. IMO- and I only own 1 Model 21- a 1949 era field grade 12- 28" SST, Ej- SPFE--I am no expert, and also my SWAG reflects my basic avoidance to the 16 gauge offerings- mainly due to higher shell cost than with a 12. I would not own this M21, which I like for pheasant hunting, except for the kindness of a bachelor uncle, who willed it to me.
While you could get whatever you wanted, isn't a 26" bbl in Full/Mod a bit unusual. Before pricing I would want to check with Cody to see if it started out that way. The Bbl markings are on top? Nice looking early gun! I really like the 20's and 16's!!
Fox, Ejectors (corrected, you learn something new everyday),
16 on its' frame, 20 on its' own frame.

Originally Posted By: S&W ucla
The Bbl markings are on top? Nice looking early gun!

Yes, on top
I'm quite sure that the gun in your photos has ejectors. The pin behind the forend is not present on extractor guns.
Nice attention to detail, Sir. You are right, a telltale axle pin just as on ejector L.C. Smith guns-- I agree somewhat that M&F on 26" barrels might be more commonly found on 28" barrels, but never say never, right?
$3,500-$4,000
Originally Posted By: gloftness