September
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30
Who's Online Now
5 members (Ken Nelson, SKB, MattH, 2 invisible), 608 guests, and 2 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums10
Topics38,931
Posts550,839
Members14,459
Most Online1,344
Apr 29th, 2024
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#423947 10/27/15 07:59 PM
Sidelock
OP Offline
Sidelock

This image is of an LC Smith Field Featherweight I bought. The old repair material was degrading, and finish was bad so it's been cleaned with an acetone soak and I gently picked out the old substance with an exacto knife. There is a rod the spans the void, and the void will not close.

I am not an expert, nor can I afford to hire one. The curve of the crack makes me think that a wood sliver insert is unlikely and I need to fill and bond with an epoxy. I do have a nicely matching scrap of material to make sawdust from, and I am wondering if a sawdust/epoxy mixture is the way to go, or is there another path realistic to take.

The gun is my first sidelock, which I want to shoot. It has other issues and is not a clean collector gun.

Last edited by B. Graham; 10/27/15 08:03 PM.
Sidelock
Sidelock

I believe that closing the crack is going to be necessary to get a good repair. Can you seperate the two pieces? I would try to get it apart, pull the pin and reclean the split with another soak to be sure all oil is gone. you could reinser a pin and even add other reinforcements and then bury any reinforcements in colored epoxy, clam it up and let it cure. I like to do another step and that is to wash off any overrun of epoxy with isopropyl alcohol. Just wash the exterior wood don't clean out the joint. this will save a lot of work.

bill

Sidelock
OP Offline
Sidelock