I hesitate to join this thread but what the hell.

Like many I started life in the party into which I was born, Democrat, I stayed there long after I could not see myself anywhere in it, because??, hell I don't know other than stubbornness and not trusting the other side any more.

I can find plenty wrong with key positions in both parties. I cannot say I find plenty right in either

Today I claim no party.

The older I have gotten the more I see both sides playing the taxpayer for a fool in how the money is spent and favors are doled out. They use the favors to bribe voters and the policy positions to scare or cause love from those not otherwise purchased. It is all a sad business. It is sad as most voters are either ignorant (idiots) in their failure to be informed or complicit.

I studied rhetoric and debate early in life and I understand how to turn any position on its head.
Through all the politics I listen to and am subjected to I continue to have one overwhelming set of principles. They are the original principles upon which our government was founded. Those principles simply put state men are born free and government should exert as little control as required.
They are principles that have been eaten away by laziness, sloth, and deception. I genuinely fear that the majority of voters today would rather a length of chain and a full bowl of chow than freedom and the danger of choosing wrongly. Voluntary serfdom is here to stay if it is not fought off.