doublegunshop.com - home
Posted By: kdross What is the golden era of SxS guns? - 02/28/07 11:16 PM
What do most people consider the golden era of SxS guns from the high end English makers. Is the period of 1890 to 1915 close?

Thanks.
Ken
Posted By: LeFusil Re: What is the golden era of SxS guns? - 02/28/07 11:28 PM
I would say so. Maybe even go back ten years earlier than that too, around 1880. During that time frame it seems to me that most of the really important innovations were starting to gain foothold and by the end of 19th century and in the very early years of the new century, pretty much perfected. I'm no expert, just my opinion.

Dustin
The golden era was an Edwardian thing, and really starting with the London patent Sle gamegun. 1900-WWI
Posted By: tudorturtle Re: What is the golden era of SxS guns? - 03/01/07 01:19 AM
What is the golden era of SxS guns?

Right now.
  • Buy a golden era original - the world's inventory is on your PC
  • New best guns, custom ordered and hand made, from LG's big 3, the continent or CSMC, and plenty of flush buyers to keep the craftsmen busy
  • CNC factory guns that are pretty darn good, B-guns and RizziniB/CGs come to mind
  • Truly cheap SxSs from the emerging countries

I confused barrel orientation in the CNC example above, but you get the pernt.
Yeti, You have nicked the matter. High quality modern steel, CNC production and we are in the pink of the double gun era. Not cheap for the best quality but it never was cheap. It is the lower cost guns that are better now. Let the games begin! David
Posted By: Jim Moore Re: What is the golden era of SxS guns? - 03/01/07 03:25 AM
1917 to 1945. Between the two wars. Some beautiful guns were built in Europe, the US and Britain, hand engraving was still the fad, black powder gave way to smokeless and steel was getting close to perfect.

Jim
I would agree with the answer above from Jim Moore.
Posted By: LouM Re: What is the golden era of SxS guns? - 03/01/07 04:21 AM