doublegunshop.com - home
I have an opportunity to buy a 20 ga Grade 2 LC Smith. I have heard the Hunter One Trigger is often problematic and there are few gunsmiths willing/able to work on them. Please chime in! Thank you! Gil
See if the seller will allow you test fire it first- a Grade 2 20 will have the 2 & 1/2" shorter chambers, so RST shells are a must-I'd want to test fire this gun with the trigger in both L and R settings, with at least a full box of shells- Also, FYI- the HOT equipped Smith guns will always have a non-automatic safety. You are right, the best LC Smith gunsmith in America that I know of, will NOT work on HOT triggers- Buck Hamlin in MO.
Posted By: KWD Re: Opinions Please on the Hunter One Trigger - 08/20/15 12:36 AM
I really like the Hunter One Triggers I have not had any problems with mine be I hear that Jerry Andrews is the guru on them.
Ken
I have been shooting one pretty hard for about 5-6 years. Never a hiccup. My gun, however, is in above average condition, leading me to think the trigger has never been messed with.

I think it is pretty well accepted among Smith aficionados that Jerry Andrews is the go-to man for problematic HOTs.

SRH
They are a complex and delicate piece of equipment. And very reliable. At least until someone who does not know what they are doing messes with them. Even over tightening a screw on the action can cause them to act up.

If the gun is original and not fooled with and clean, it will likely work fine for you.
Posted By: RHD45 Re: Opinions Please on the Hunter One Trigger - 08/20/15 01:18 AM
My gunsmith thought so much of them that he duplicated several of them for installation on other Smiths.
Jerry is your guy. I have had him repair three, mind you these three were all fixer uppers or damaged guns. The ones I've shot have never failed me. I had a Pigeon grade double on me once while dove hunting but never again so I don't bad mouth the HOT overall.