doublegunshop.com - home
Posted By: Joe Wood London proof marks before 1813 - 07/18/19 01:55 AM
This is a pic of my late style double flint W.H. Wilson, London 16 bore. The inspection mark of crown over V is there and what appears to be a plain P below what might have been a crown? But not the GP usually found on guns built after 1637. Anyone ideas on what proof rules it fell under? Am I seeing it right? No other proof mark is visible and I don’t believe the barrels have been refinished.

Posted By: Argo44 Re: London proof marks before 1813 - 07/19/19 03:02 PM
Joe, I'm no expert, but doesn't it look like that "P" might actually CP under a crown?

Posted By: 2-piper Re: London proof marks before 1813 - 07/19/19 09:28 PM
The "CP" mark is actually GP, Gunmakers Proof, which was a mark of the London house.
The mark on Joe's gun does not appear to me to have ever had the entwined GP, just a P. Can't tell from the p[icture if it had a crown over it or not.
Posted By: Joe Wood Re: London proof marks before 1813 - 07/19/19 09:47 PM
Miler, there does appear to be a vague crown above the P.
Posted By: Hugh Lomas Re: London proof marks before 1813 - 07/19/19 11:24 PM
It is CP as in Company Proof.London proof house is operatd by members of the worhipful company of gunmakers.
Posted By: peevedoff Re: London proof marks before 1813 - 07/23/19 05:43 AM
Lee Kennett wrote in "A History of Proof Marks, Gun Proof in England" (Gun Digest 1977 Edition, p.161) that "Another variant, and a more baffling one, is the frequent appearance of a crowned P in conjunction with the usual view mark. The theories concerning this mark are many: that it is the result of a defective London die, a mark of a proof house in Liverpool, or in Dublin (where it is known that arms were proved in the 18th century), or possibly the mark of private proof in Birmingham. That it is the mark of proof elsewhere seems plausible, for the London authorities from time to time seized arms bearing other marks."

Markus