doublegunshop.com - home
Posted By: smlekid loading black powder shells - 07/14/07 11:52 AM
Hi is it possible to load black powder into plastic hulls? I have a Lefever H grade that I would like to shoot with some black powder loads (just for the fun of it) what is involved in loading black powder I have no experience with it at all (but have loaded 1000's of rifle pistol and shotgun loads) is there any good books on the subject?
Posted By: Jim Legg Re: loading black powder shells - 07/14/07 12:31 PM
Bob Spencer has a website on the subject. I have deleted it and can't give you the link but I'm sure you can Google it. Answer to your first question is certainly yes. I have loaded thousands of BP shells into plastic and also into Federal papers. I only use them once and toss them. You'll want cardboard and fiber wads. Plastic wads will melt and make a mess besides being illegal for BP cartridge matches. Some of Sam Fadala's BP books touch lightly on the subject but I don't know of an entire book dedicated to this one subject.
As Steve said, it is Tom Bullock. Don't know where I got Bob Spencer.
Posted By: Steve Meyer Re: loading black powder shells - 07/14/07 02:53 PM
Tom Bullock has a great write up on loading BP shotshells on the web at http://www.tbullock.com/bpsg.html
Posted By: rabbit Re: loading black powder shells - 07/14/07 03:34 PM
Second the recommendation of Bullock.

jack
Posted By: BrentD, Prof Re: loading black powder shells - 07/14/07 05:02 PM
I do it all the time. I don't own any smokeless powder any more.

Brent
Welcome to the world of blackpowder cartridge shotguns! Check out the "Gun Digest Blackpowder Loading Manual", it has a chapter on loading bp cartridge shotguns. The Bullock site has more info though

I use in my loading:

Goex 2f
.125 cardwads as overpowder wads
.5" fiber wads
either .125 or .03 cardwads as a overshot wad.
Muzzleloading ball starter to seat wads into the hull
bathroom scale, yes you read right!