Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6
Chuck H Offline OP
Sidelock
OP Offline
Sidelock

I recently found out my 5 yr old upland lab has arthritis in her back that is starting to limit her abilities and endurance. I can see she has pain at times. I'm working with our vet to begin a therapy of oral supplements/medications and injections. Our hope being that we can prolong my dog's mobility and hunting and give her the best quality of life. Even though I have no prognosis on how limiting this will be to our Lab, it's time to start considering another gun dog as the process can be long.

Being a somewhere between knowing nothing and being a novice, I was reading the online Gun Dog magazine website articles on gun dog breeds. Amarillo Mike's tales of the great Brits he runs has always captured my attention. I'm really considering a pointing breed this time around too.

But I stumbled on an article about French Pointers (Braque Francais) and I'm lured by the description of their demeanor and manners, hunting style/ability, size, and that short hair for the warm weather we live with in the southwest.

Anyone have any experiences around this relatively new to the US breed?

Sidelock
Sidelock

If a breed does its job, is easy to train, etc, it will be a popular breed. Niche breed dogs may work out well, but if I want to tip the odds in my favor, I'm going with a popular breed from a proven kennel.

Sidelock
Sidelock

Yeah - in my experience, there's a reason why rare breeds are rare.

And it's not because they're fantastic at their jobs.

A good, quality English Pointer or English Setter is a better bet.

OWD

Good Gun Alerts & more:

www.DogsandDoubles.com
Sidelock
Sidelock

Hi Chuck,