May
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31
Who's Online Now
5 members (canvasback, SKB, Stanton Hillis, 2 invisible), 866 guests, and 5 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums10
Topics38,501
Posts545,499
Members14,414
Most Online1,344
Apr 29th, 2024
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
#235195 07/11/11 11:03 AM
Sidelock
OP Offline
Sidelock

Hey folks, I'm new here. Started buying old doubles about a year ago and have a 20ga. Lefever Nitro and a 16ga. Philly Sterlingworth. I am a freelance photographer and occasional author and I hunt over my setter in MN, KS, OK, TX and LA most years.

Anyhow, I have been reading here for a while and decided to finally post a question about a gun that's been driving me nuts for a few years now. It's on the used shelf at a local big box store and all their used guns are way overpriced, but each time I handle it I get a little more intrigued by it. The straight stock feels great Mainly because no one seems to know what it is.

A little info. The gun is a simple 12ga boxlock with what appears to be fairly nice wood (under layers and layers of oil and dirt) with some nice checkering. The barrels are in decent shape with lots of bluing left. The receiver is covered in a light layer of rust/patina in that order. The tag on the gun IDs it as a Crocker, but there is no such maker I can find and no ID to that sort on the gun. The workers at the store know nothing about it and can't ever seem to locate the trigger lock key (the barrels won't break open with the trigger lock in place it seems, so I can't read the flats)

Along the top rib there is a well worn stamp that reads "D. Hart???? & Sons, Stirleig" On the flats with the forearm removed I can see "CHOKE" clearly stamped on the left barrel and "??eveling" stamped on the other two. with the ?s being letters that are hidden by the receiver or unreadable on the rib.