Most Online1,344
Apr 29th, 2024
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 2 of 4 1 2 3 4
Sidelock
Sidelock

I think if you put some white crayon on the action flat to get into the stampings you will find there is a Crown over V and the Perron present. There are some letters to the left of the crown but I can't make them clear enough to read. My guess is a Belgium made gun. There are some other marks mostly obscured by the corrosion which may be decipherable with a little white crayon. Need to lay the barrels on their back and photo the barrel flats and area just forward of the flats. It appears there are some marks but at the present angle they are not readable.

cambo Offline OP
Boxlock
OP Offline
Boxlock

Thanks Jerry I will give that a try. My arms are not long enough to see as well as I used to.

Sidelock
Sidelock

Well, Cambo,thanks, they should be small stamps like: crossed swords, a "V" or two. "65" or "70", (chamber length)
I have no doubt someone more knowledgeable that me will be along to assist, and there are lots of those here. Those look like Damascus barrels, so the gun might be made 1880ish
The gold barrel bands are more appropriated on muzzle loader barrels.
Raimey, wherefore art though?
Mike

cambo Offline OP
Boxlock
OP Offline
Boxlock

Here are a couple more close shots. You can see some markings. Is this any help?

Last edited by cambo; 03/14/12 04:35 PM.
Sidelock
Sidelock

The tower mark is the Peron of Belgium.

cambo Offline OP
Boxlock
OP Offline
Boxlock

Thanks Daryl, Any idea of a ballpark value?

Sidelock
Sidelock

Although this is a beautifully engraved gun the value is still in the barrels. We really need to know their condition, length, chokes, bore size and wall thicknesses. If the barrels are good the value is higher. If not then the value suffers because the buyer would have to either sleeve, rebarrel or use tube liners of some sort. Thanks for showing us this beautiful gun though.

Sidelock
Sidelock