April
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30
Who's Online Now
4 members (AGS, SKB, graybeardtmm3, 1 invisible), 420 guests, and 4 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums10
Topics38,443
Posts544,786
Members14,405
Most Online1,258
Mar 29th, 2024
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
AaronN Offline OP
Sidelock
OP Offline
Sidelock

Hello All.

I am a researcher and collector of pinfire cartridges, their guns, and documents or images related to them.

I recently bought a gun specifically because it came with two 15mm pinfire auxiliary percussion adapters which I had never come across (I previously only had 12mm and 9mm ones; an article about one of these is on my website: http://freemycollection.com/?page=articles/pinfireauxiliaryadapter )

Additionally, I now believe this gun may be a sidelock, not a boxlock after reading more about the two on this forum and elsewhere. Comments?

This was made by the luxury gun manufacturer, P. Boissy somewhere around the late 1850s to 1860s. He manufactured his guns in Saint-Étienne, France and even won an award at the Exposition Universelle of 1855 in Paris for his "pistolets de luxe."

This pistol has a few unique features. first it was made to work with the included 15mm percussion adapters which could be used with readily available powder, caps and balls if one ran out of pinfire cartridges. To use these adapters the rear sight/safety/pin-holder would be removed by unscrewing one screw which allowed the larger auxiliary adapters to fit in the holes.

When using it with pinfire cartridges, the piece that was removed to allow use of the adapters would be placed back on the gun and screwed back in. This partially fills the larger hole to allow a pin from a pinfire cartridge to be held steadily in place.