May
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31
Who's Online Now
4 members (Stanton Hillis, David Williamson, Kolar Dickson, 1 invisible), 770 guests, and 5 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums10
Topics38,501
Posts545,498
Members14,414
Most Online1,344
Apr 29th, 2024
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
Sidelock
OP Offline
Sidelock

Since 2006 I have loaded my hunting ammo in RMC all brass hulls. I use 209 primers, progressive powders, 1-piece plastic wads or depending on patterns/chronograph readings, card and fiber wads. How many of you load all brass hulls?

Jim
Sidelock
OP Offline
Sidelock

I thought that many on this forum would be using brass hulls, but I’m wrong. Please allow me to share with you my shotgun brass hull experiences.
I have been loading and shooting all brass hulls for over 8 years and it has been a very enjoyable process. I do not know why, but brass hulls have given me the best patterning shotgun ammo that I have ever loaded.
I bought my hulls from Rocky Mountain Cartridge when they were in Cody WY. They have since changed owners and are in Worland WY.
RMC brass hulls are turned from bar stock and cost approximately $5 each. According to Dave Casey, the previous owner of RMC, Cowboy Action shooters have reloaded RMC brass hulls over 3,000 times. It should be obvious that pump, lever and semi-auto shotguns are not well suited for brass hull use.
It is important to note that if you shoot a double gun or a gun with multiple barrels, the bores must have identical dimensions or you run the risk of having some or all of your hulls expanding to the largest bore size and thus making them unsuitable for smaller bore size(s). RMC can make a full case resizing tool if your bores are not dimensionally the same.