April
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 1,035 guests, and 5 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums10
Topics38,467
Posts545,124
Members14,409
Most Online1,258
Mar 29th, 2024
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
#381741 10/26/14 03:50 PM
Sidelock
OP Offline
Sidelock

The purpose of using crushers was to measure the pressure before piezo electric measurement devices were widely available for reasonable cost. So why is there a difference between LUP and CUP, etc? Do you mean to tell me that the engineers couldn't calculate the equivalent pressure for different materials? Or did they do it just to confuse?
I am an engineer and I do understand the principle.

Sidelock
Sidelock

Very briefly:

LUP (Lead Units of Pressure) and CUP (Copper Units of Pressure) are both crusher methodology units. Due to the different characteristics of lead and copper, LUP was used to describe relatively low pressure cartridges such as shotshells, and CUP was used for cartridges that generated higher pressures (e.g. hand gun and rifle cartridges).

The crusher methodology (regardless of whether LUP or CUP) provided a description of the entire area under the pressure curve.

Transducer (piezo electric) methodology provides a trace of the entire pressure curve, as measured at a specific point in the chamber. The single value commonly reported as the transducer peak pressure is the highest pressure in that curve, as detected at the point of measurement.

Crusher and transducer methodologies dont really measure the same thing. Thats why crusher and transducer pressure measurements can be neither meaningfully compared nor converted from one to the other.

If you want more, see:

http://www.saami.org/specifications_and_information/index.cfm

P.S. I just have to ask. Of what are you an engineer?

Last edited by Kyrie; 10/26/14 04:31 PM.
Sidelock
Sidelock