May
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31
Who's Online Now
9 members (lagopus, dogon, fullandfuller, FelixD, Lloyd3, 1 invisible), 721 guests, and 5 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums10
Topics38,503
Posts545,541
Members14,417
Most Online1,344
Apr 29th, 2024
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#473963 03/04/17 09:57 PM
Havnfun Offline OP
Boxlock
OP Offline
Boxlock

Recently purchased a nice underlever gun. Barrel rib marked McNaughton which I cannot find another example of. Is this possibly an early gun with different spelling? See the attached pics, thanks in advance!

I hope I posted these pics properly!!

Brian

Havnfun Offline OP
Boxlock
OP Offline
Boxlock

Im sorry, this is my first time posting and with pics. Let me try this again. Somehow I posted duplicates...

Sidelock
Sidelock

Somethings don't seem right about the gun. First is the proofs are on the barrels and not on the flats. On the flats it has a name on one side and on the other I'm assuming 'Birmingham'. I've never seen that before.

It is MacNaughton not McNaughton but there are many examples where the engraver misspelt the makers name. As well every MacNaughton I've seen has the street address on the top rib along with the MacNaughton name and Edinburgh.

So there are a few anomalies that raise questions.

Nothing is foolproof to a sufficiently talented fool.
Havnfun Offline OP
Boxlock
OP Offline
Boxlock

Hi Tamid

Thank you

If you look next to the number 411 on the pic above you can see MacNaughton stamped real faint spelled correctly. Its hard to see. I assume that was done by the proof house? I should have mentioned that in the original post.

I looked at my WC Scott hammergun, the proof marks are on the barrels and not on the flats on that gun too. Wouldn't you think it makes more sense to use the barrel flats?

Brian

Sidelock
Sidelock