April
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30
Who's Online Now
2 members (Oberndorf, 67galaxie), 997 guests, and 4 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums10
Topics38,468
Posts545,134
Members14,409
Most Online1,258
Mar 29th, 2024
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#542061 03/23/19 03:04 PM
Sidelock
OP Offline
Sidelock

As many of the members of this forum know, I am a student of the history of William Powell & Son. This morning, I was reviewing an 1805 ledger that included an entry concerning the sale of what appears to be " 4 Gallons of Goats bile."

Any ideas on how goat's bile was used? Perhaps as a wood or leather stain?

Sidelock
Sidelock

Steve: I couldn't find anything regarding the use of goat's bile in leather tanning or processing. It is apparently a light yellow-green and I couldn't find anything about using it as a leather dye either.

Animal bile has long been used in traditional Chinese medicine
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4123376/

Could Powell have killed goats on site for their hides, then sold the meat and bile? Lots of South Asians in London c. 1800.

Goat bile and guts are used in a SE Asia soup - Papaitan in the Philippines sick

Sidelock
Sidelock

I wonder if it was an ingredient for ye olde browning or blacking formula ?
There's been some strange concoctions used in the past.

Rust never sleeps !
Sidelock
Sidelock

Sidelock
Sidelock

Some of the delightful stuff used in 1800s browning formulae:
Spirits of Nitre = It is obtained by the distillation of alcohol with nitric and sulphuric acids.
Aqua Fortis = Nitric acid. Nitric acid is a strong oxidizing agent. It reacts with metals, oxides, and hydroxides, forming nitrate salts. Aqua Regia is a mixture of nitric and hydrochloric acids.