March
S M T W T F S
1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
Who's Online Now
5 members (SKB, Little Creek, PALUNC, Karl Graebner, 1 invisible), 316 guests, and 2 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums10
Topics38,373
Posts543,993
Members14,389
Most Online1,131
Jan 21st, 2024
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#48160 07/14/07 07:52 AM
smlekid Offline OP
Sidelock
OP Offline
Sidelock

Hi is it possible to load black powder into plastic hulls? I have a Lefever H grade that I would like to shoot with some black powder loads (just for the fun of it) what is involved in loading black powder I have no experience with it at all (but have loaded 1000's of rifle pistol and shotgun loads) is there any good books on the subject?

Sidelock
Sidelock

Bob Spencer has a website on the subject. I have deleted it and can't give you the link but I'm sure you can Google it. Answer to your first question is certainly yes. I have loaded thousands of BP shells into plastic and also into Federal papers. I only use them once and toss them. You'll want cardboard and fiber wads. Plastic wads will melt and make a mess besides being illegal for BP cartridge matches. Some of Sam Fadala's BP books touch lightly on the subject but I don't know of an entire book dedicated to this one subject.
As Steve said, it is Tom Bullock. Don't know where I got Bob Spencer.

Last edited by Jim Legg; 07/14/07 12:56 PM.

> Jim Legg <

Sidelock
Sidelock

Tom Bullock has a great write up on loading BP shotshells on the web at http://www.tbullock.com/bpsg.html

Sidelock
Sidelock

Second the recommendation of Bullock.

jack

Sidelock
Sidelock

I do it all the time. I don't own any smokeless powder any more.

Brent

_________
BrentD, (Professor - just for Stan)

[Linked Image from i.imgur.com]

Boxlock
Boxlock