May
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31
Who's Online Now
2 members (bushveld, 1 invisible), 637 guests, and 4 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums10
Topics38,508
Posts545,632
Members14,419
Most Online1,344
Apr 29th, 2024
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
#98214 06/12/08 11:10 AM
Sidelock
OP Offline
Sidelock

Have a look at this link if you would like to see the new over/under from William Evans. I have been watching this gun from the time the prototype arrrived in London and the details were under discussion.

http://www.sportingshooter.co.uk/

I think it is good to see a London maker trying a new model on the market. At half the price of a Churchill it offers what Evans always did; some of the best proprietory models by trade makers with their own finish and style, backed by the William Evans name and service.

What do you think?

Sidelock
Sidelock

Dig,
Don't Guerini make one for about £2000?
Sorry, a sarcastic slip.It looks okay, but not my cup of tea ole chap.As a matter of interest what are Churchill, Purdey and Evans trying to do? Kill off English gunmaking? They don't need to sell these branded spaghetti guns do they? Surely they can get that sort of cash turnover by selling woollen socks and shooting suits?

Sidelock
Sidelock

Maybe a nice dressed up huglu semiauto for the real modern chaps at say abit under 500#s.
Big question is how much nicer would the gun be if the same money was spent but purchased from Guerini cutting out the middle man.

JM Offline
Sidelock
Sidelock

Dig, do you know exactly what Guerini is providing? Is William Evans buying the barraled actions from Guerini in the white and finishing them, or is Guerini doing everything and just putting Evan's name on it?

A nice looking gun either way.

Sidelock
Sidelock