Mar 29th, 2024
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 2 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6
eeb Offline
Sidelock
Sidelock

I have had mixed results getting good crimps when loading 3/4 oz. I use a Fed SO-12 wad and no pressure on the loading handle and follow the printed recipes. I know Clay Shooting magazine had an issue last year devoted to the lite loads. I have more confidence in the 7/8 oz. personally.

Sidelock
Sidelock

PA24 - great idea - thanks. I started shooting trap 39 yrs ago and never would have thought of anything but 1 1/8oz loads. Quit shooting untill about 8yrs ago and the wife got me back into it. After reading quite a bit about reloading I went to 1oz, then 7/8oz. I've never noticed any difference in scores, only recoil. To each his own, but I sure like the 7/8oz loads. Paul

Sidelock
Sidelock

Bladesmith....yes, I like the 7/8oz. the best for all around, scores are high, lots of dead birds and no wear and tear on the guns or the shooter.......

Best Regards,

Doug

Sidelock
Sidelock

Jimmy,

Did it ever occur to you that maybe your "loose nut behind the butt" just wasn't as good as those who did the "kickin'? Unless the shooting was long-range handicap (maybe) it sounds like Mr. Walker got inside your head just a bit.

Last edited by Dingelfutz; 09/14/09 08:17 AM.
Sidelock
Sidelock

Are the 3/4 oz shooters using tighter chokes than with 1 oz?

Sidelock
Sidelock

If I expect to need "longer range" performance, yes, I am. And, that is with the understanding that effective pattern diameter will be smaller, which requires a smaller aiming error angle to score.

That said, I would do the same thing for any reduction in shot charge, reguardless of the gauge. Also, this applies to a reduction in shot count via larger shot where both the number of hits and striking energy must be kept up for lethality.