May
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31
Who's Online Now
6 members (Tim Wolf, azgreg, mel5141, KY Jon, smp190, bushveld), 246 guests, and 4 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums10
Topics38,530
Posts545,878
Members14,420
Most Online1,344
Apr 29th, 2024
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
kdross Offline OP
Sidelock
OP Offline
Sidelock

What do most people consider the golden era of SxS guns from the high end English makers. Is the period of 1890 to 1915 close?

Thanks.
Ken

Sidelock
Sidelock

I would say so. Maybe even go back ten years earlier than that too, around 1880. During that time frame it seems to me that most of the really important innovations were starting to gain foothold and by the end of 19th century and in the very early years of the new century, pretty much perfected. I'm no expert, just my opinion.

Dustin

Sidelock
Sidelock

The golden era was an Edwardian thing, and really starting with the London patent Sle gamegun. 1900-WWI

Sidelock
Sidelock

What is the golden era of SxS guns?

Right now.
  • Buy a golden era original - the world's inventory is on your PC
  • New best guns, custom ordered and hand made, from LG's big 3, the continent or CSMC, and plenty of flush buyers to keep the craftsmen busy
  • CNC factory guns that are pretty darn good, B-guns and RizziniB/CGs come to mind
  • Truly cheap SxSs from the emerging countries

I confused barrel orientation in the CNC example above, but you get the pernt.

Last edited by Yeti; 02/28/07 10:46 PM.
Sidelock
Sidelock

Yeti, You have nicked the matter. High quality modern steel, CNC production and we are in the pink of the double gun era. Not cheap for the best quality but it never was cheap. It is the lower cost guns that are better now. Let the games begin! David

Sidelock
Sidelock