May
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31
Who's Online Now
3 members (Wild Skies, Jimmy W, 1 invisible), 1,134 guests, and 5 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums10
Topics38,514
Posts545,670
Members14,419
Most Online1,344
Apr 29th, 2024
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 3 of 3 1 2 3
GLS Offline
Sidelock
Sidelock

James, you are off and running to a better than good start. Nice work. We lost a regular contributor several years ago who probably didn't live far from you in the UK. Ballistix999. He was a self-taught gun restorer/smith who did beautiful work. I looked for some of his threads, but unfortunately the photos and videos were taken down after his death as well as his website. Tony's battle with cancer was featured on BBC (one of the channels). Tony had some great videos on case hardening actions (on his car port) browning barrels and blackening hardware. Perhaps someone here can steer you to a site that may have some of his work. He also did an e-book, a compilation of his projects. He is missed.

Sidelock
Sidelock

Yes he is.

Sidelock
Sidelock

"A Hunter's Life in South Africa" by R. Gordon Cumming. To read about guns, James Purdey, Westley Richard, John Dickson and some others in the field, great stuff!!!

Sidelock
Sidelock

I'm surprised that long list of Double Gun Books did not include Shotgun Technicana by McIntosh and Trevallion. It's out of print, but well worth reading if you can locate a copy.

A true sign of mental illness is any gun owner who would vote for an Anti-Gunner like Joe Biden.

Sidelock
OP Offline
Sidelock

Thank you guys, i think i have a good short list to be getting on with.

I may start a blog myself at some point as i do like to share what i do and every day I'm working on something and i already try to keep a picture record of things i am working on.

Very best wishes,

James.

Sidelock
Sidelock

Originally Posted By: keith