March
S M T W T F S
1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
Who's Online Now
7 members (eightbore, SKB, steve voss, Lawrence Kotchek, battle, Perry M. Kissam), 336 guests, and 2 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums10
Topics38,374
Posts544,000
Members14,391
Most Online1,131
Jan 21st, 2024
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 11 1 2 3 10 11
#464580 12/06/16 12:04 PM
Sidelock
OP Offline
Sidelock

I am relatively new to the art of color case hardening and work mostly on LC Smith and other double barrels for my personal use. I have colored 2 of these guns with decent success. I am looking for a more accurate coloring with consistent results than just dumping the receiver from a rectangle crucible similar to brownells pipe crucible. Does anyone have any advice in a crucible design, way the receiver needs to hit quench, shielding, etc. I have seen some pretty good results from some on the forum. Thanks in advance

Sidelock
Sidelock

Reading of oscar gaddys articles in DGJ on the topic would be a good start.

You can try to wade through the posts on this forum on the topic, but well over half the posts you will find are nonsense instigated by one particular member who knows nothing of the process.

B.Dudley
Sidelock
Sidelock

Here you go, 31 pages of discussion and information.

http://marlin-collectors.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=3732

Regards
Ken

I prefer wood to plastic, leather to nylon, waxed cotton to Gore-Tex, and split bamboo to graphite.
Sidelock
OP Offline
Sidelock