March
S M T W T F S
1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
Who's Online Now
6 members (Ken Nelson, SKB, skeettx, LRF, Lawrence Kotchek, Karl Graebner), 875 guests, and 4 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums10
Topics38,374
Posts544,009
Members14,391
Most Online1,131
Jan 21st, 2024
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5
Sidelock
OP Offline
Sidelock

Hoping to learn something about Darne shotgun. How rare is a 24 gauge. It is marked Halifax on the top pull levers. I am assuming this is the model.
Stock has not been cut and is still curved but a pad is installed. With the pad removed it will have a little over 14” LOP. Where might I find a buttplate?
Very nice wood but pretty plain engraving.

Last edited by Ghostrider; 11/17/17 10:45 PM.
Sidelock
Sidelock

I'm no expert on Darnes except to say I have an R10 in 12 gauge and love it.
Ted will hopefully be along shortly to give you some info on your 24 gauge.

GLS Offline
Sidelock
Sidelock

24 gauge is more common in Europe than it is in the US. It is scarce to rare in the US. I'd love to have one. Gil
P.S. call Larry at http://www.dutchmanwoodworks.com/ for a buttplate.

Sidelock
Online Content
Sidelock

When talking Darne guns, 24 was rare in Europe, too. I asked Hervé Bruchet, 20 years ago, if they still built 24 gauge guns, and he answered, "Yea, but, I don't know why. Nobody buys them. I don't know why they would".
And so it goes. You have not lucked into a winning lottery ticket, just the lowest grade Darne R model gun, with brazed barrels instead of monoblock barrels, in a gauge that is hard to feed. Not impossible, mind you, but, you will have to really want to shoot it, in order to do so. Most of the 24 gauge Darnes I have seen were 2 1/2" chamber guns, as well. The barrel flats will be marked 6.5 or 65 if that is the case.