April
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30
Who's Online Now
3 members (grouse28, CJ Dawe, MattH), 1,211 guests, and 5 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums10
Topics38,469
Posts545,142
Members14,409
Most Online1,299
Apr 26th, 2024
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Sidelock
OP Offline
Sidelock

Howdy, I'm relatively new to doubles ( have sabatti in 9.3x74r, and 470ne ). I'm looking at a couple other guns in more common calibers, IE, 30-06 or something close. One of the guns in looking at is a Winchester grand European. How do the extractors work on these with rimless cartridges? Should I avoid this?

Ps. I've been loving my sabatti's. Can't believe I waited so long to get into doubles.

Thanks

Sidelock
Sidelock

Many Winchester Grand Europeans have had serious problems with poor regulation. I would consider one only if it could be demonstrated to be reasonably well regulated.

Boxlock
Boxlock

Originally Posted By: vangulil
Many Winchester Grand Europeans have had serious problems with poor regulation. I would consider one only if it could be demonstrated to be reasonably well regulated.

Agree with the above. Given poor regulation and the fact that most came silver brazed at the muzzle (which makes re-regulating a PITA at best), I'd wade carefully. I've heard of it being done on a few rifles, but that's a project and certainly something to be aware of. If it's proven to shoot well with a reasonable load, then this is less to worry about.

Most double rifles for rimless cartridges use a small, spring-loaded pawl (or sometimes just a rounded wire) that recesses back into the extractor housing as you push the cartridge in. If you're careful (or lucky, depending on who you talk to) it snaps back into place in the notch. In the few I've seen, it doesn't seem like the sturdiest setup.