May
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31
Who's Online Now
4 members (Ted Schefelbein, bushveld, Chuckster, Themauserkid), 332 guests, and 4 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums10
Topics38,537
Posts546,031
Members14,420
Most Online1,344
Apr 29th, 2024
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
Sidelock
OP Offline
Sidelock

Ive been looking for waterfowl dedicated side by side to compliment my upland gun which is a nicely balanced featherweight Elsie 12 gauge. I found a nice looking (from Internet photos) Parker VH 3 magnum built on a #2 frame, 30 barrels full and full, weighs in at 7.75 pounds. Coincidentally thats the exact weight of my Ruger Red Label Sporting Clays which I have been using in the duck blind for 25 years, I appreciate the extra swing weight, it also absorbs recoil and I dont have to carry it far from boat to shore blind.

Ive done a little research on the Parker site and have discovered that Parker did chamber magnum 12 gauges for three inch shells, actually 2 7/8 chambers, but for some reason most are on a too light 1 1/2 frame, some have been seen on #3 frames, but a #2 framed magnum 12 is rare. Have any of you seen a Parker magnum 12 on a two frame? Btw, the gun dealer who Ive known for 20 years says it is marked on the barrel lugs or frame, I cant remember which, as factory.

The only issue is the gun is marginally short for me at 13 7/8 including a 1 1/4 recoil pad. That coupled with the fact that Im down south running my retrievers in field trials, so cant see the gun in person till mid March, Id have to jump in blind so to speak. The comb dimensions sound like theyll work for me, but even with hunting clothes it might require a slip on pad to fit me in the duck blind.

Last edited by Glacierjohn; 01/11/20 07:41 AM.
Sidelock
Sidelock