April
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30
Who's Online Now
2 members (9372, 1 invisible), 154 guests, and 5 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums10
Topics38,431
Posts544,704
Members14,402
Most Online1,258
Mar 29th, 2024
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 15 1 2 3 14 15
Sidelock
OP Offline
Sidelock

New member here and a little about me:
Im 50 years old
Im and Engineer
My hobbies are hunting, fishing, spearfishing, shooting (USPSA and 3Gun)
I have been reloading since I was about 12 years old. My Dad always reloaded for shotgun since before I was born. I got us started in metallic rifle and pistol around 1991. I have dies and components for probably 50 or more calibers including 12, 20 and 410 shotshell.
Just giving a little bio so you know who you are speaking to and can adjust your responses accordingly.

One subject that I dont know much about is vintage double guns. So Im looking for some direction from you guys.

Reason for this post is I want to purchases a vintage American double barrel. Here is a list of what Im looking for and what the gun will be used for.

1) Good shooterthis gun will be used for squirrel and rabbit hunting here in south Louisiana. Maybe some duck hunting with 2.5 light bismuth loads or similar. Quail and any other wing shooting that I would do. I go to Kansas on occasion bow hunting and this gun would make that trip to kill a few pheasant.

2) I have decided on a 12 gauge for a few reasons, I only have two other 12 gauges, I have an excessive amount of reloading components for 12 gauge and have worked up some killer 1 oz loads of #5 to shoot thru my suppressed 870 that have a muzzle velocity of about 900 fps and crush squirrels out to 40 yards or a bit more..so I have faith that I can make light loads for the old 12 gauge that will do whatever I want. And I see they are typically much cheaper than the smaller guns.