April
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30
Who's Online Now
2 members (Fudd, 1 invisible), 161 guests, and 3 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums10
Topics38,431
Posts544,704
Members14,402
Most Online1,258
Mar 29th, 2024
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#584682 11/20/20 08:09 AM
Sidelock
OP Offline
Sidelock

I have an acquaintance who had two sets of barrels sleeved at Briley for his Parkers, to 34". He convinced Briley, after Briley fitted the sleeved barrel sets to the actions, to send them back to him so that he could strike them himself until he got the "feel" he wanted. He did the filing and polishing himself, then sent them back for bluing.

Got me to thinking about a set of new 32" barrels I will have fitted to a Philly Fox action. I understand that barrel filing/striking is not for a total novice but I have done a lot of filing on delicate gun parts and even have made some parts from chunks of steel with a hacksaw and files. So, I have some experience with filing.

Is there any published literature anywhere that describes the process/procedure of barrel striking? My 32" set will be fitted to a Fox that already has a 30" original set. It'd be nice to duplicate the balance and handling by striking the 32s to match the 30s. Sound reasonable?

Thanks in advance, SRH

May God bless America and those who defend her.
Sidelock
Sidelock

Stan,