Members14,412
Most Online1,344
Apr 29th, 2024
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Mark E. Offline OP
OP Offline

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hi! I'm a bit new to the drillings world, but have been a multi barrel gun nut for a while (working on a .50cal over 20 ga flintlock at the present). I did a bit of research on the common calibers of drillings (Merkel, Krieghoff and a couple others) and found that their double rifle/single shotgun combos only goup to 9.3x74rimmed, which is an ok calibre (or so I've been given to believe) for close range work (boar and European bear), but has little long range capability. My question is that if a fellow was looking for a longer range, more versatile larger game gun (2000 pounds and up, or at least carnivorus and with low blood pressure) with 300 yard accuracy, plus a shotgun feature not for birds but rather for when you check to see if the critter is really down and not laying in wait for a nibble on you, where would they look? Specifically I would be interested (not that I would be buying one anytime soon, but things happen) in a 404 Gibbs, 416 Rigby (or even better a 416 Weaterby magnum) sxs over a 12 ga w/ 3" chamber threaded for choke tubes and able to handle slugs(which is really a 600 nitro, ballistically, without rifling)or large buckshot loads...I understand the cartridge width may cause handling issues, but are there any other factors (recoil affecting mechanisms, barrel-rib structural integrity...)? Bare bones plain with little engraving and no frills is the "grade" I'd eb interested in(I put more faith in a well build mechanism than pretty pictures, so if I have to use it in a manner that will save my hide but scratch the gun's, I'm not going to stress over it) Any info appreciated, and feel free to tell me I'm nuts-I get that a lot.

The term of "too much gun" has never been uttered by someone who has hunted anything above them on the food chain.
Boxlock