I worked in the intelligence business for about 30 years; 5 years with CIA (as a case officer in the Arab world); 25 years in Army Reserve Military Intelligence, involved with strategic analysis. So I do have a reasonably good idea of how the system works, how National Intelligence Estimates get written, etc.

The facts on Iraq are these: Saddam had (and used) chem weapons, both against the Kurds in his own country, and against Iran in the Iran-Iraq War. There is no dispute as to those facts. And no, we did NOT provide him with those chemical weapons. The "assistance" we gave Iraq during their war with Iran consisted largely of information based on satellite imagery, which was undoubtedly of great value to the outnumbered Iraqi military. But if you look at the equipment with which Saddam fought that war (and the Gulf War, and the 03 invasion), it is nearly all Russian. Not stuff we gave him.

In the intelligence business, when you know something for sure--as we knew that Saddam had chem weapons--you tend to cling to that knowledge with great tenacity, because there is a whole lot you don't know. And in the case of Iraq, after the Gulf War we simply did not have reliable assets in place, in country, to tell us what was going on. Therefore, when the UN inspectors left Iraq in 1997 and said there were hundreds of tons of chem weapons unaccounted for, there was absolutely no reason not to believe them. We did not have anyone telling us that Saddam had destroyed those stockpiles, given them away, or that the starship Enterprise had dropped by and beamed them up. And we did have a number of refugees--anti-Saddam types of course, who were not tested, reliable sources (but you go with what you've got)--telling us that yes indeed, those weapons were still there.