Thanks for the interest. I have been working on African carnivores for 46 years; I bought my first shotgun (Brno ZP49 in Nairobi) when I was teaching myself how to dart hyenas and they kept ending up in dense bush full of other interesting creatures. A shotgun license was easier than a rifle, but I eventually got permits for the other guns.

S&W – the sidearm is a high capacity Paraordnance .45 souped up to take .460 Rowland, which is a .45 that thinks it is a .44 Mag. No pistol is much good for large animals, but I want something right at hand when I am crouching over a lion at night, usually with all her friends and relations right there and my shotgun or rifle propped against the car. It is compensated, so very fast and controllable compared to a big revolver, but I hope never to test it from under a lion.

Stan – all the lion work is directly for conservation. I studied various aspects of spotted hyena biology for 20 years but when I got into conservation I found that no one was interested in hyenas, even though they are the most interesting animal in the world. I switched to lions before everyone else noticed that there had been a serious decline, and have run a series of conservation research projects in Kenya. Before that, no one knew anything about lions outside parks, where they are heavily persecuted for eating livestock, the reason they have been poisoned and speared nearly to extinction in recent decades. We did a great deal of work with both very traditional Masai pastoralists and modern western beef ranchers on managing cattle to protect them from predators, mostly by modifying ancient African livestock management practices. Ranches in Laikipia County are a great conservation success, with healthy populations of herbivores and plenty of predators. These may be the only ranchers anywhere who actually want to maintain large predators among their cattle.