The link about the yuppie-fication of the Bourbon industry provided by CptCurl is interesting... particularly the reference to the Tulip-Mania moment. That hasn't arrived quite yet, but it hasn't happened with extremely high priced wines yet either. Yet.

Earlier in this discussion, I mentioned a few everyday Bourbons that are quite drinkable when you are only tying to impress yourself, and which don't cost several dollars a shot. I can't help thinking about a wager I witnessed when I worked as a bartender for several months while looking for work in my major after graduating from college.

It was a rough working class neighborhood bar, and I worked mostly during the day when all of the older retired guys and alcoholics made their daily visits. One day, a patron was pretty loaded, and arguing about beers with some other guys. He proudly proclaimed that his brand was the best, and said he'd know it anywhere. Another patron heard this and told him he was full of shit, and the heated argument soon turned into a wager. Money was piled onto the bar, and I was drafted to set up the test and referee the results. A couple clean bar-rags were tied together to make a blindfold for the guy. I was asked to set up a row of small chaser glasses, and we filled them with about 8 or 9 different beers including the favorite of our blindfolded friend. A small piece of paper under each glass had the brand name of the contents written on it.

Then, the guy who jump started this contest called me over, and in a low whisper, he instructed me to also fill two more of the test glasses, one with plain water, and one with 7-UP from the soft drink dispenser.