Originally Posted by dblgnfix
As an engineer myself, I agree with your engineer friend. As a restorer of double guns and maker of springs, I can add this. I see many guns that have been sitting unused
and left cocked for decades. When I remove the parts, clean and then reassemble, the springs are just as good as when they were made over 100 years ago in most cases.

Also consider this, most people at the turn of the century didn't use their guns any where near as often as we do today, with clay shooting and all, I would wager most were all kept in the
cocked position, when put away.

An Engineer should not be making rash statements such as the sentences above that I highlighted in Bold Red Type.

First, I don't see how you could be certain that these guns have been "left cocked for decades". They could well have been cocked by your customers just prior to bringing them to you. More importantly, you could not accurately state that the springs in guns that are over 100 years old when you disassemble and clean them are "just as good as when they were made over 100 years ago." You would have to know how much force it took to compress them when they were made, and also know the exact measurement of their uncompressed size versus that same dimension today. Anything else is mere opinion, and engineers should be dealing with measurable absolutes... not opinions.